Incubus: To the Devil a Daughter

Musical styleNWoBHM
Additional infoCD bootleg exists.
Rarity grading
2 out of 6 - Quite rare!


Remember the band Incubus from the early 80's that released "Serpent Temptation" and "Beyond The Unknown," ran into some problems with the current crap meets Faith No More band Incubus and changed their name to Opprobrium? Well, this ain't that band! This rare gem of a record, which should really be a lot more valuable than it is, is more surprising and eyebrow raising for what it is NOT than for what it is. Upon first glance at the album cover and a few song titles like "Highway To Hell", "Night Of Vengeance" and "Life Beyond The Grave", I was expecting a full on dark and evil thrash assault, not unlike what the U.S. band Incubus was doing. This band, hailing from the U.K., plays a much more melodic but still heavy style of N.W.O.B.H.M. and reminds me most strongly of the band Wolf (the 80's band, not the one currently recording) via their "Edge Of The World" disc. This album starts out with a blast, the first two opening tracks "She Laid Him Down" and "Highway To Hell" are flat out kick ass jams. Despite very melodic vocals, the songs for the most part are presented in a strong fashion, quite catchy and anthemic. There is a ballad here which throws this album completely off track, in "You've Taken My Love", complete with the acoustic riffs and rather syrupy melodic multi vocal choruses. Of course, I hate when 80's metal bands resort to the "chick song." Regardless, the album does have MANY strong moments, and as I said is not at all what you might expect. "Helen Of Troy" has some hard rocking guitars until you get to the choruses, where you find that melodic crooning the rest of the band does. "Sophisticated Woman" and "Night Fever" aren't bad tracks either, though they end the album on a weaker note that the first few tracks. Very good vocal work, and I must say this album is really damn good! Info for this band was even harder to come by on the internet; it seems like Incubus, besides having three members that have the same last name, recorded this one album before disappearing into obscurity forever.

1) She Laid Him Down
2) Highway To Hell
3) Life Beyond The Grave
4) Tight Fisted
5) To The Devil A Daughter

1) Helen Of Troy
2) Noght Of Vengeance
3) You've Taken My Love
4) Sophisticated Woman
5) Night Fever

Created / updated: 2012-07-23
Steven Cannon