Killer: Young blood

FormatLP, CD
Musical styleHeavy Metal
Additional info-
Rarity grading
0 out of 6 - Not rare at all!


KILLER gehörten zu den 80er Bands, die einige Veröffentlichungen hatten, aber nie größeres Aufsehen erregten. Der Stil der Band war ähnlich anderer Gama-Bands wenngleich Einflüsse von KROKUS deutlich sind.

Auch wenn KILLER deutlich mehr Erfolg hatten, waren musikalisch ähnliche Bands wie SIX POINT SIX oder BLOODY SIX stärker. Das liegt weniger am Sänger oder an der Produktion als viel mehr am Songwriting. Natürlich hatten auch KILLER starke Momente, aber insgesamt fehlte die Geschlossenheit des Materials auch wenn man -wie angesprochen- gesanglich mit Mark Broman einen Sänger hatte, der durchaus einiges zu bieten hatte und Vergleiche zu STORMWITCH angebracht erscheinen.

Letztendlich macht es immer noch Spaß KILLER anzuhören, wenngleich wie gesagt nicht alles überzeugen kann, aber Highlights wie "Run for you" oder "Heaven and hell" machen auch diese LP zu einer interessanten Angelegenheit für Sammler.

KILLER made several albums (4 Studioalbums + Live) but in comparision to other bands on the Gama-label not so many strong songs were found.

Of course when you listen to the album today and your are an 80s Metal fan you won't be disappointed because you will find all German Metal 80s ingrediences beginning from the powerful melodious songs ending with the fine vocals (reminding a bit on STORMWITCH).

If you don't have enough money to buy all 80s albums which are interesting but you want to find something extraordinary on the Gama-Label (now Karthago/Battlecry) maybe you will concentrate on BLOODY SIX or SIX POINT SIX first.

So you will find 2 bands which were forgotten even faster than KILLER because they made only one album, but had a lot of more first class songs in their repertoire.

Nevertheless "Young blood" is a good thing to be checked out beside the other albums from this swiss band. For some of you it will be a discovery and in any case its worth the money.

1. I Want It 03:32
2. Young Blood 03:43
3. She Wants More 03:49
4. Wild Boys 04:02
5. Run For You 05:08
6. Heaven And Hell 03:24
7. Top Secret 04:25
8. Shes A Crazy Driver 03:36
9. Heavy Metal 03:31
10. The Show Is Over 01:48
Total playing time 36:58

Created / updated: 2011-01-17
Stefan Riermaier